Float Like A Butterfly…

ali

Sting Like A Bee

Today’s photo, I did not personally take (obviously). I got it here while learning about the wonders (or lackthereof) that Louisville has to offer, one of which is the Muhammad Ali Center. Overall, it’s a pretty underwhelming list, but I found this photo because of it, so it wasn’t a complete waste of my time.

Anyways, I think this photo is absolutely awesome and inspiring. Boxing is one of my favorite workouts (not that you asked), and this picture encompasses exactly how I feel at the hardest parts of said workout. Sure, I am a limp noodle in comparison to Ali (yes, first name basis), but still. The strength & power you feel while zoning out everything but loud music & punching the life out of a sand bag is great, regardless of who you are. Fake it till you make it right? The muscles, facial expressions, and body language of the two men fighting make such an interesting photo. I love the pitch black background that contrasts with the shine of the lighting on the skin and white shorts of both of the boxers. The image focuses only on the two men fighting, which is how I would imagine the people watching this fight in person were seeing this moment. Muhammad Ali looks like a badass. I don’t know enough about boxing to know who the other person is, or if this was an important fight, historically speaking, & I don’t particularly care. But clearly Ali is poised & in control of the situation. I think it is a very powerful image & I made it my desktop background. Come at me now, classmates. I dare you.

Side note, when I was in 4th grade, I rode on the same airplane as Muhammad Ali –  I’m kind of a big deal.

DAY 41 of 365

One thought on “Float Like A Butterfly…

  1. Pingback: Kentuck | 365 Days of Nothing in Particular

Leave a Reply

