Fragrant Sticks

IMG_1054

I would like to preface this post by informing fellow readers/guests/blogpeople/homies that I am not a hippie. Nor do I do drugs to supplement my incense addiction. Contrary to popular belief, burning incense does not a hippie/druggie make. Not that there’s anything wrong with being a hippy or something. I am just clarifying.

Anyways. Our neighbor from Louisville gave us (my mom) some incense. What a gem. She (my neighbor) is from India & went home home for a family members wedding (which apparently has spectacular traditions in Indian culture involving horses and shenanigans that us(me) westerners can only dream of, & something I would love to learn more about) & brought back a cute little gift of incenses that my mother probably had no idea what to do with. Luckily, I stumbled upon these awesome little fragrant sticks shoved in the depths of some drawer of miscellaneousness in our kitchen. The dozens of different colored packets appeared before my eyes in a rainbow of wonder.   What?    I was excited. With all these exotic scents at my fingertips I didn’t know where to start first (that’s a lie, I had my eye on the lavender right from the get go). Not to mention I do enjoy playing with fire, so a perfectly good excuse to do so (not that I need one) was a delight as well.

Pictured here is a stick of violet incense that I burned yesterday. And yes, I do feel rather exotic/worldly just saying that. Although, when I look past the glowing stick of incense, I am faced with a harsh reality that I live in an off campus dump in the heart of Ohio… so there’s that. But, I’ll take what I can get. I have never been too familiar with violet as a scent, only as a color are we acquainted. I am much more a lavender fan. It’s an obsession really. But the violet one smelled great too. One of my favorites.

DAY 27 of 365

Leave a Reply

